May Book Haul

Hi guys!

I wanted to tell you all about my May book haul which is honestly pretty overdue. You see, I’d tried making a video but ended up not enjoying how it looked too much to post it on youtube but I did take pictures so let’s jump right in:

20170603_115357_012

I went a bit crazy in May. I was very much in a manga mood last month and I think the image above shows that. Quick rundown of what I bought:

The first three volumes of Haikyu. Haikyu is a manga series that I probably would not have heard of outside of YouTube. I’m not someone who is very into sports manga and while I can’t tell you much about it I can give you a brief synopsis of what I do know- it’s a volleyball centric manga series that focuses on a boy who has always wanted to best his rival but ends up having to learn how to work with him instead due to their ending up on the same team. Yeah, that’s all I know and frankly, I’m perfectly fine with that. I’ve peaked at the art and it looks amazing and I’ve heard really, really good things so yeah- definitely looking forward to reading the volumes that I bought.

I also purchased or rather repurchased the fifth volumes of both Magical x Miracle and Demon Diary which also happen to be two of the very first manga series that I’d ever purchased ever. Demon Diary centers on Raenef a former street urchin who finds out that he’s the new demon lord and Eclipse the right hand of the former demon lord who ends up being his teacher. It also centers on their adventures together and the fact that Raenef is not at all demon lord material. He’s more of a floating penguins sort of guy and tbh if you ever read the manga you’ll know why I refer to him in that context.

Magical x Miracle centers around a girl named Merleawe who arrives in the Kingdom of Viegald to attend magic school. It just so happens that she arrives just after the Great Wizard Slythfarn has gone missing who she happens to look exactly alike which means a huge conspiracy is begun where she has to impersonate him which can’t be all that hard, can it?

I also purchased the entire Eerie Queerie manga series which is an awesome yaoi series that involves a guy named Mitsuo who can see, communicate and occasionally be possessed by ghosts. This special ability leads to a lot of crazy adventures in the four volume series and the addition of a romantic interest or several makes things even more interesting and (hilariously) fun.

And to finish up the manga part of my haul I bought the first volumes of Death Note, XXX Holic, Kamichama Karin, Secret Devil Chan, Interviews with Monster Girls, Kamikaze Kaito Jeanne and Full Moon.

Kamichama Karin is about a girl who discovers that her mother’s ring can turn her into a goddess. It’s such a fluffy cute series that touches on some sensitive subjects in a really nice way. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the magical girl genre.

Now I’ve never read Kamiaze Kaito Jeanne before but apparently, it’s about a girl who is an ordinary person during the day but the reincarnation of Joan of Arc by night. Definitely an interesting synopsis right there.

Death Note is one of those series that everyone knows the synopsis of but I’ve never actually read it. I have watched the anime though, twice in English and once in Japanese but for those who have no idea what it’s about- Death Note is about a guy who ends up with a book called a Death Note and whoever’s name ends up written in the Death Note dies. This obviously leads the main character down a very dark path.

Secret Devil Chan was another manga series that I had heard about on YouTube. It sounded hilarious so I thought I might as well check it out and it was pretty hilarious (just really awkward to read out in public). Basically, a guy wants to lose his virginity so he summons a demon to do the deed with and well, that demon ends up being a he instead of a she which is a major mood killer for our protagonist who ends up trying to find ways to send the very adorable demon back where he came from except he can’t seem to shake him at all. This leads to a lot of interesting and semi-awkward moments which make for a really humorous read.

Now Interviews with Monster Girls is about a guy who lives in a world of Demi-Humans (who prefer to be called Demis) and he’s always wanted to know more about them. Then one day when he’s a teacher at a high school he discovers that there are four demis at the school he teaches at. So obviously our protagonist takes it upon himself to get to know these “monster girls” and honestly, it’s just a really cute story that may or may not be harem centric.

XXX Holic is about a guy haunted by visions of ghosts and spirits who accepts a witch named Yuko’s help when she offers it. Turns out, he’s been tricked to work for her and this employment ends up being nothing like any of his previous jobs.

And there you have it. Those are all of the manga I purchased in the month of May. Now for the books, I feel like instead of giving you a huge summary of each book I’ll list them all and explain why I bought them (if there really is one). Let’s get into it:

In May I bought Peter Darling by Austin Chant, Tithe by Holly Black, The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry and Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.

I had already read and purchased Peter Darling before in e-book form but I loved it so much that when I had the opportunity to purchase a physical copy of it I jumped on it. It’s an excellent retelling/sequel to Peter Pan by the way and overall something that I really, really enjoyed. Oh and it’s #OwnVoices, features a #TransMC and is just a lovely quick read that I think everyone should check out. I highly doubt you’ll regret it.

Tithe was something that I purchased because I’d heard a lot about it on YouTube and after reading Black Cat by Holly Black I wanted to try something else out of hers. Not sure when I’m going to get a chance to read it but I am very excited to.

Neverwhere was something I purchased because I really wanted to check out one of Neil Gaiman’s adult novels. I adored Coraline by him and while I really, really wanted to read American Gods that book was sadly not in my half priced bookstore.

And for the last book I bought in the month of May, The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, I bought it because it sounded hilarious. -shrug-

 

 

Leave a comment